Introvert party! With Just Me!

Lately, I have come to a sort of realization. A kind of amazing truth to myself.

I might be an introvert.

All of my life I have been very social, I go to a lot of parties, I have a lot of friends, and I feel compelled to do and go to everything I am invited to. But this has always made me feel, well anxious. Often I don`t want to go to things, but I go. Often I don`t want to talk to people, but I force myself.

I was thinking about when I am the happiest. And it hit me. When I am alone. When I am alone, I am in bliss. I never get bored. I enjoy the quiet company of my mind. There are so many things to see and explore. I have many hobbies and enjoying doing them on my own time.

The world, especially the world we live in today, based on American culture is built for extroverts. For team playing, for talking it out in groups, for being the life of the party.

Yet according to this article, http://www.psychologytoday.com/articles/201008/revenge-the-introvert  on psychology today, there are just as many introverts as there are extroverts.

And maybe I am just finally realizing that is all, and accepting myself for who I am.

Someone who cannot imagine anything better than a book, a bath, some TV, over thinking, guitar plucking, candy eating and dog petting. Alone. By herself. Tonight.

Leave a Reply

