so much we don’t know doesn’t make us the worst

It just makes us better, for recognizing that there are things to learn.

I am an avid learner, a strong believer that there is always a lesson to learn, something to notice, something to expand your mind. Yesterday I went to PodCamp, a Halifax gathering of Internet and media types, with workshops designed to help you with your knowledge and skills.

Man, did I feel like a fish out of water. There are so many things I don’t know about the Internet. I have never been much of a technological person, but I love writing and social media, so I am challenging myself to try to better these skills. However, some things are beyond me. The other girls I attended with were talking about coding, and banners and widgits. I did not know exactly what they meant. But I learned, I can only get better.

Usually I don’t like being the small fish. I like to feel smart, I like to feel like I know what is going on. Otherwise it just makes me anxious in comparison. How did they get so smart? How did I get so far behing?  But yesterday I accepted it. I let my brain be a sponge and take everything in.

Noone is an expert in everything, we all have something to take in.

 

Leave a Reply

