April is National Poetry Writing Month

In case you did not know,

April is national poetry writing month.

This has come at a very appropriate time for me. Last night I stayed up reading a book of poetry by Canadian women named Susan. I was thinking to myself, I should write more poetry and then today I saw that it was poetry month. So I am challenging myself.

To write one poem a day. So here goes.

Day 1.

 

The Edge

The ice pellets bong

ping

ping

ping

against the window,

and I am so fucking sick of feeling

grey

grey

greyer.

 

I feel the sun would blind us,

make us fall down, dizzy, bruised and broken.

 

We are limbs that have fallen asleep.

 

This winter is pushing us all to the edge.

I’d jump off if I believed it was sunny.

 

 

2 thoughts on “April is National Poetry Writing Month

  1. Great first poem. Seeing the Sun would be a nice thing that is for sure. Looking forward to tomorrows poem.

Leave a Reply

