April 3rd- Poem- Runs

Runs

 

Last night she woke me up,

 

hour after hour after every precious hour.

I wanted to ignore her whiny cries,

turn my ears,

and pretend she didn’t exist.

 

As soon as I turned my face to the pillow,

and felt the cool side, I remembered I did not like

shit

on the floor.

And probably she felt awful.

Then I remembered how much I love her.

 

So up we went,

over and over and over again.

Strain in her face,

as the cool wind touched mine and I cursed that I wasn’t sleeping.

 

This must be love,

me in a robe, bare legs in -3.

 

Watching a dog, 3 legs

have the runs in the crunchy yard.

 

here she is, in better days.

here she is, in better days.

 

Leave a Reply

