The Enchanted by Rene Denfeld- Book Review

I did not know what to except from this book, a book about life in prison, on death row, with the titled The Enchanted ? I admit that sometimes I read to escape from my own life and find it hard to read things that keep me up, make me upset, are difficult. I often let books I am reading affect me and my mind too much.

But when I finished The Enchanted  I was certainly glad I read it, and have already set about urging other people to read it. Because it is awful, beautiful, disheartening and heartwarming all at once. It is a book the challenges you. It challenges you to look, face to face at the ugliness of the world, not hide from it. We all know that there are men in prison, that prison is an ugly place and that most of them probably have had terrible situations in their life that made them end in prison. Life isn’t fair as I always have to remind myself.

But through the eyes of  the storyteller, a reclusive man on death row, who we never find out much about, we see the world that he sees and what he finds around him. The lady, the fallen priest, fellow prisoners on Death Row, the warden, the jailer. We see how everyone has a story and everyone’s story needs to be heard. We see how there can be magic in everyplace, even the darkest places.

Love and hope always exist, perhaps we just have to look real hard for them.

 

4.5/ 5 Stars

Image

3 thoughts on “The Enchanted by Rene Denfeld- Book Review

  1. “awful, beautiful, disheartening and heartwarming all at once”…Yes, yes, yes. Glad to find your review and your blog. I am posting a 5 star review of The Enchanted this week. I hope it’s OK if I link back to you.

  2. Pingback: 5 stars for The Enchanted | alenaslife

Leave a Reply

