“Then and Always” by Dani Atkins- Book Review

 

Image

I feel like Then and Always is going to be a novel I would recommended to anyone to take in their bag as they head out for a weekend on the beach or at the lake. It might be the perfect thing to take with you when you have a few days to forget about the office, the emails you didn’t answer or that your mother might ask you again to go out with her coworkers’ nephew. That is because it is sweet, light, heartfelt, romantic, quick paced and an easy read.

But…. I don’t think it was a wonderful book. I do not believe that it was entirely well written and think some of writing was cliche and easy to guess what was going to happen next. The characters were a little bit tired, typical bad boy does not treat his girl right, typical good guy who just loves the girl next door. And our classic heroine, batting her eyelashes, clueless about how to get out of the way of a car or  move on. Rachael, the main character bothers me in that she seems to be very needy and unable to do things on her own. Perhaps it is my own independent nature but I found it hard to relate to her, and I prefer my main characters a little more bad ass.

The premise of the book is that Rachael is almost split between two words, the terrible world she knows, the one that happened after she was involved in a car accident at a restaurant, and the new one, where everything seems, well perfect.

Which one is real, and which one is fake? Or can we live in a parallel universe? Could two things really be happening at once?

I am not going to tell you anymore dear reader, because I suggest you find out for yourself. The book is bound to lead you down a few rabbit holes and in the end, maybe you will think about what really matters in your life.

 

* I received a ARC from Penguin Canada in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

