Intolerable- Book Review by Kamal Al-Solaylee

This book was shortlisted for the 2015 Canada Reads Prize.

This book is part memoir, part history of the Arab world and part coming out story. But it never feels dull. He explains so much about the Middle East, but the whole time I was learning I was yearning to know more.

I just finished reading this book and I can’t stop thinking about it. He is an excellent writer with a really unique and soft, real voice. We don’t blame him, we just feel for him and he identifies with the struggles of being a gay man, who immigrated to Canada, but at the same time, not really know how he got there, and not be too sure how to feel about the family that he left behind. I really enjoyed it, so much so that I wanted to go to Toronto and ask Kamal to hang out, perhaps walk our dogs together.
We come from two very different worlds, but somehow he has managed to feel like a kindred spirit. 5words-intolerable-social-thumb-620x447-397102

Leave a comment